If your ticket notes that you have to attend court, then you are required to attend a specific court date, or you may face penalties for a failure to appear. You do not have to attend court if your traffic violation is considered a waivable offense (however, you will have to pay the fine prescribed by your citation, or you may attend court to contest the violation). If you fail to appear for a non-waivable traffic offense, you may have your license revoked, you may face court fines, and you may even have a warrant issued for your arrest. If you’d like to extend your court date, it may be best to speak to a traffic attorney to learn about your options and the proper proceedings to extend your trial date.
Although you may have travel plans, or you may live in a different state, you may still be required to attend a court date for a speeding charge. That said, a traffic attorney may be able to attend your court date on your behalf, or you may be able to extend your court date until you are available to return to North Carolina. Again, it may be best to speak to a traffic attorney to learn about your options.
Police officers and state troopers may issue a speeding ticket to drivers here in North Carolina.
An officer can issue a speeding ticket if they’ve utilized a radar speed detector to record your speed. In some instances, officers neglect to record the specific speed at which you were traveling, or they may be using faulty equipment — both of which may be grounds to have your speeding charge dropped.
While speeding alone may not result in a criminal misdemeanor or felony charge, individuals may be issued a speeding charge alongside another infraction that may be considered a misdemeanor or felony. For example, a driver may be charged with a misdemeanor offense if they earn a reckless driving violation alongside a speeding violation. In North Carolina, most speeding infractions are deemed minor offenses, and they will not result in a misdemeanor or felony charge.
While a speeding ticket may not be expensive on its own (tickets often cost about $30), they also come with court fees if the infraction is not a waivable offense (which can cost about $200).
On top of these fees, your insurance rates may increase. Take a 15 mph over the limit infraction, for instance. In these cases, insurance rates often increase by about 50 percent after the speeding infraction, and that can result in an insurance rate bump that can cost over one thousand dollars over three years of coverage (or approximately 500 dollars per year of coverage).
Total fees and insurance rate increases will vary depending on the severity of the speeding charge, as well as the specific policy of your insurance provider.